top of page

2020 Men’s Championships Winners

The Men played the final two rounds of their 72-hole Inverell Golf Club championships last weekend. The last 18 holes were played in cold, drizzly, and sometimes showery conditions. Phil Fox started Sunday 5 shots ahead of 17 times Club Champion, John Coote. Both players struggled on the first 9 because of the conditions and John was able to close the gap by two shots. Phil recovered to score a birdie, six pars and two bogies, on the bottom 9. His one over par on the bottom gave him a five-shot win and his 5th Club Championship.

The A Reserve competition was remarkably close with the lead changing throughout the four rounds. Ian Jeffery went into the last day with a 4-shot lead over Simon Green and another one over John Foulcher and Gordon Dean. Gordon, at the age of 83, had to pull out after 6 holes because of the cold conditions. John Foulcher went on to record 80 off the stick. This was enough to put him back into the lead and eventually gave him a two-shot win over Simon Green and Ian Jeffery. Simon and Ian then went back out to complete a 3-hole playoff to decide the runner up. Simon managed to record a par on the 3rd playoff hole while Ian had a bogey, and this gave Simon the runner-up prize.

In B Grade, Tony Schutz was consistent, playing under his handicap for all four rounds.  He took out his grade 13 shots in front of Ben Butler

Harry Edmonds averaged more than 4 under his handicap for each of the four rounds to give him a massive 47 shots win of next placed Graham Moore.

Two old timers fought it out in D Grade with 83-year-old Ross Tutt the eventual winner defeating Peter Bucknell by four shots.

John Coote was the veteran gross winner and Harry Edmonds took out the juniors. Harry also won the overall nett, 6 shots ahead of Tony Schutz.

Players also competed for nett positions.

Those winning gross events were not eligible for the nett prizes.

In A Grade – John Coote finished 4 ahead of Jason Shaw while in A Reserve – Ian Jeffery was 4 clear of Steve Kent.

Adrian King took out B grade, 2 ahead of Ben Butler while Noel Cross finished 2 in front of John Stansfield in C grade.

Matt Flitcroft took D grade, again, 2 ahead of Allen Bujack.

Click the arrows  on the images below to see the gross and nett winners and names

bottom of page